Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall was a shining example of the commitment to leadership, excellence and compassion for which both Funds stand. Accordingly, the Sphinx Educational Fund is proud to present this event in conjunction with the Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

For the past 16 years, this has been a signature fund raising event within the Greater Phoenix community with an audience that includes members of the business community, clergy, political and community leaders, as well as, students and scholars.

16th Annual Sphinx Educational Fund and Thurgood Marshall College Fund Brunch

  • Date: October 5, 2019
  • Time: 9:30 a.m.
  • Location: Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West
    860 N Riverview
    Mesa, AZ 85201

Buy Tickets/Sponsorships Here

Keynote Speaker: Alicia Morgan

Our keynote speaker is Alicia Morgan, Vice President of Education and Programs at Frontiers of Flight Museum, a TEDx speaker and an award-winning STEM/STEAM advocate.

Morgan is a graduate of Tuskegee University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Aerospace Science Engineering and New Mexico State University with a Master's Degree in Industrial Engineering.

Committed to lifelong learning she has successfully maintained leadership excellence in the private for-profit and nonprofit sector through K-12 STEM education outreach, college/workforce readiness, strategic planning, and programming program development.

Her professional engineering experience includes working in Capital Asset Management and Process Engineering at Fortune 500 companies such as Lockheed Martin, The Boeing Company, and Raytheon.

Prior to her current role, she was a Program Leader for the after-school program Heart House Dallas and lead researcher for the Dallas Community College District(DCCCD) STEM Accelerator Insight Project website.

View Alicia Morgan's TEDx Talk

Thurgood Marshall Award of Merit: Sandra Kennedy

In addition to the keynote address, we will continue our tradition of presenting the Thurgood Marshall Award of Merit to Arizonans whose actions have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to making the Phoenix community, the State of Arizona, and the world better.

This year we will honor Sandra Kennedy.

This luminary has dedicated her life to the principles of justice, equality and excellence that remain fundamental tenets of Justice Marshall's legacy.

Kennedy was re-elected to the Corporation Commission in 2018 on a platform of restoring integrity to the Commission, lowering unjustified utility rate increases, and creating more solar and renewable energy in Arizona, especially roof top solar.

Sandra Kennedy was first elected to the Arizona Corporation Commission in 2008 on a platform of promoting solar energy in Arizona, and as a fierce consumer advocate. She started her public service when she was elected to the Arizona House of Representatives in November 1986, where she served for six years before successfully becoming a state senator in 1992. She served three terms as State Senator.

Sandra was also elected to serve on the Phoenix Union High School Governing Board for a four year term in 1990, serving concurrently with her last term in the Arizona House and her first term in the State Senate.

Previous Awardees:


Michael E. Johnson


Memie C. Burton, Jr., M.D.


Asa Herring


Lovelle A. McMichael, Sr.


Leah Landrum-Taylor


Bishop Alexis A. Thomas


Dr. Rufus Glasper
Gerald P. Richard II


Judge Cecil B. Patterson, Jr.


Calvin Coolidge Goode


Justice Ruth McGregor


Ms. Betty Fairfax


Honorable Judge Lynda Howell - Phoenix Municipal Court
Jim Pederson - Entrepreneur, Arizona Businessman


Commander Jeri Williams - City of Phoenix Police Dept
Dr. Warren Stewart, Sr. - Pastor, 1st Institutional Church


Hon. Judge Carol Scott Berry - Phoenix Municipal Court
Don Logan - Office of Diversity, City of Scottsdale


Dr. Eugene Grigsby - Educator
Honorable Judge Jean Williams - Retired Adjudicator